top of page

ESM Annual Congress 2022 Award Winners

Congratulations to this year's award winners, who presented at the ESM Annual Congress in Bologna, which was held from 26-29 June 2022.

Gardner Middlebrook Award Winners

Philip Supply, CNRS / GenoScreen, Lille

A brief odyssey in TB origins and drug resistance

Véronique Dartois, Center for Discovery and Innovation, Hackensack Meridian Health, USA

The challenges TB drugs face at the site of disease: implications for drug discovery and regimen development

Gertrud Meissner Award Winner

Sophia Georghiou, FIND

TB drug susceptibility testing: revisiting the reference standard

Oral Presentation Award Winners

Teresa Walz, Research Center Borstel

Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex bacteria adaptation to antibiotics: Evolution informed tuberculosis treatments

Nicola Lore, San Raffaele Scientific Institute

Unravelling the pathogenicity of Mycobacterium abscessus clinical isolates in CF pulmonary epithelial cell and mouse models of respiratory infection

Poster Presentation Award Winners

Miguel Angel Moreno Molina, Instituto de Biomedicina de Valencia (IBV, CSIC)

Intrapatient dynamics of early drug resistance acquisition in tuberculosis-HIV coinfection

Cristina Rodriguez-Grande, Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria Gregorio Marañón. Madrid

One-health genomic analysis of a self-limited tuberculosis familiar microepidemic reveals a long-term unnoticed zoonosis involving Mycobacterium caprae

Lindsay Sonnenkalb, Research Center Borstel Leibniz Lung Center

The mutant selection window of Mycobacterium tuberculosis to moxifloxacin, bedaquiline, and clofazimine in vitro


bottom of page